Skip to content

Australian Mental Health Prize

10 Dec 2016
The National Mental Health Commission applauds the first Australian Mental Health Prize winner, Kim Ryan, CEO of the Australian College of Mental Health Nurses.

Kim Ryan is a passionate advocate for mental health and for the profession of mental health nursing. Her many achievements include guiding the establishment of the collaborative Mental Health Professionals Association.

In accepting her award, Kim championed the need for more to be done to address links between physical and mental healthcare - a key focus area of ours.

The National Mental Health Commission also commends the seven Australian Mental Health Prize finalists; which includes one of our Commissioners, Ian Hickie.

Ian Hickie is an internationally-renowned researcher in depression, early intervention and youth mental health. He was founding CEO of beyondblue and helped create headspace and the Young &Well CRC.

Another finalist, John Mendoza, is a mental health and suicide prevention advocate, policy analyst and researcher committed to sector reform and reducing the rate of suicide in Australia. He has worked in alcohol and drug and mental health for nearly 35 years.

John Mendoza is working with the National Mental Health Commission and other stakeholders on an Australian Defence Force suicide prevention project.

About the Prize

The Australian Mental Health Prize was established by the University of New South Wales through its School of Psychiatry, Australia’s pre-eminent psychiatric research department.

The Prize recognises Australians who have made outstanding contributions to either the promotion of mental health, or the prevention/treatment of mental illness.

This year’s winner and finalists were selected from an impressive field of more than 130 submissions from across the country.

For more info visit Australian Mental Health Prize.