Skip to navigation

Skip to content

Farewell: Commissioners Professor Ian Hickie AM and Mr Samuel Hockey

02 August 2018

This week, we said farewell to two of our commissioners – Professor Ian Hickie AM and Mr Samuel Hockey.  

Chair of the Commission, Mrs Lucy Brogden thanked Professor Hickie and Mr Hockey for their dedication and commitment to improving the mental health and wellbeing of Australians.

“Professor Hickie was appointed to the National Mental Health Commission when it was established in 2012 and has provided invaluable guidance and advice on our reporting and advisory roles” Mrs Brogden said. 

“He was instrumental in establishing the Contributing Life Framework which has become a platform for our ongoing reporting and reform work.” 

“Mr Hockey was appointed in 2017, and has made a valuable contribution to the Commission as a young person with a lived experience of mental illness.” 

“Mr Hockey will further his work in mental health through his participation in our Australian Mental Health Leaders Fellowship program.”

"I thank Professor Hickie and Mr Hockey for their important contribution."

Get Help

24 Hour Emergency Services

Lifeline Australia

13 11 14

Suicide Call Back

1300 659 467

Kids Help Line

1800 551 800

More Services

Find Events

More Events

Read Documents

Corporate Plan 2019-2023 | PDF 1.1MB

Paid Participation Policy | PDF 2MB

Annual Report 2017-18 | PDF 18.6MB

More Publications

Get Involved

eNews updates

Subscribe to RSS
(What is RSS?)