Skip to content

The Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan

The Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan (Fifth Plan) was endorsed by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Health Council in August 2017. Responsibility for implementing the Fifth Plan was assigned to the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council (AHMAC), the Mental Health Principal Committee (MHPC) and its subordinate committees, with the intent that implementation would finish in 2022.

Aboriginal flag Torres Strait Islander flag

Acknowledgement of Country

The Commission acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands throughout Australia.
We pay our respects to their clans, and to the elders, past present and emerging, and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, sea and community.


The Commission is committed to embracing diversity and eliminating all forms of discrimination in the provision of health services. The Commission welcomes all people irrespective of ethnicity, lifestyle choice, faith, sexual orientation and gender identity.

Lived Experience

We acknowledge the individual and collective contributions of those with a lived and living experience of mental ill-health and suicide, and those who love, have loved and care for them. Each person’s journey is unique and a valued contribution to Australia’s commitment to mental health suicide prevention systems reform.