Skip to content

Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan

The Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan (Fifth Plan) was endorsed by the COAG Health Council in August 2017. The Fifth Plan represents commitment from all governments to work together to achieve integrated planning and service delivery of mental health and suicide prevention related services.

The Fifth Plan is accompanied by an implementation plan that establishes responsibilities for agreed actions under each of the eight Priority Areas specified in the Fifth Plan. 

The Commission has been given responsibility for delivering an annual report, for presentation to health ministers, on the implementation progress of the Fifth Plan actions and performance against the identified indicators. To achieve this, we are working with the coordination points identified in the Fifth Plan implementation plan, the Australian Government Department of Health, state and territory governments, Primary Health Networks and state mental health commissions.