Our People

We all share a passion, commitment and drive to improve the mental health and wellbeing of all Australians.

The Chair and Commissioners of the Advisory Board provide leadership and advice that informs our work and strategic direction. They bring a broad range of expertise and perspectives from across different sectors to give an independent view of system performance, and a voice to the experiences of people with mental health difficulties or at risk of suicide, their families and support people.

Our Executive are responsible for the performance and governance of the Commission and promote a culture of professionalism and drive a high standard of performance. Our staff are skilled, motivated and responsive, and demonstrate the values of the Commission in all that they do.

Last updated:
  • Governance

Acknowledgement of Country

The Commission acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands throughout Australia.
We pay our respects to their clans, and to the elders, past present and emerging, and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, sea and community.


The Commission is committed to embracing diversity and eliminating all forms of discrimination in the provision of health services. The Commission welcomes all people irrespective of ethnicity, lifestyle choice, faith, sexual orientation and gender identity.

Lived Experience

We acknowledge the individual and collective contributions of those with a lived and living experience of mental ill-health and suicide, and those who love, have loved and care for them. Each person’s journey is unique and a valued contribution to Australia’s commitment to mental health suicide prevention systems reform.