Skip to content

National Children’s Mental Health and Wellbeing Strategy

The Commission welcomes Minister Greg Hunt’s commitment to developing a National Children’s Mental Health and Wellbeing Strategy.

On 14 August 2019, the Minister for Health announced the development of a National Children’s Mental Health and Wellbeing Strategy (the strategy) as part of the Government’s Long Term National Health Plan.

The Commission is responsible for leading the strategy, informed by a steering committee and expert advisory group led by Co-Chairs Professor Frank Oberklaid and Professor Christel Middeldorp. Details of the expert advisory group membership are below.

The strategy will guide and inform the Government’s investment and commitment to the health and wellbeing of our children and will provide a framework for preventing mental illness and reducing its impact on children, families and the community.

A draft strategy is due to be delivered to the Australian Government by November 2020.

We are committed to hearing about models that work and ideas to inform our thinking. This is not a tender process and no funding will be provided for any model or information shared.

The Commission has now completed its preliminary consultation process. 

Information for the National Children’s Mental Health and Wellbeing Strategy can be emailed to [email protected]

National Children's Mental Health and Wellbeing Strategy Expert Advisory Group membership

  • Professor Frank Oberklaid, Director, Centre for Community Child Health, the Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne (Co-Chair)
  • Professor Christel Middeldorp, Professor Child & Youth Psychiatry Child Health Research Centre, University of Queensland (Co-Chair)
  • Ms Christine Morgan, CEO, National Mental Health Commission
  • Ms Lyndall Soper, Deputy, Monitoring and Reform, National Mental Health Commission 
  • Ms Maureen Lewis, Principal - Monitoring, Reporting and Projects, National Mental Health Commission
  • Professor Helen Milroy, Commissioner, National Mental Health Commission
  • Dr James Best, General Practitioner
  • Ms Nicole Rogerson, parent representative
  • Dr Jim Watterston, Dean, Melbourne Graduate School of Education
  • Associate Professor Vanessa Cobham, School of Psychology, University of Queensland
  • Mr Warren Cann, CEO, Parenting Research Centre
  • Ms Louise Wightman, President, Maternal, Child and Family Health Nurses Australia