Skip to content

National Suicide and Self-Harm Monitoring System

The Commission is working with the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) to establish a national suicide and self-harm monitoring system.

Following the National Suicide Prevention Summit held in December 2018, the Commission made a number of recommendations on the key actions to prevent suicide deaths in Australia.  One of those recommendations was to establish a national system for the collection, coordination and timely delivery of regional and demographic information on the incidence of suicide and suicide behaviour, to enable focused and timely preventive actions to be implemented.

In the 2019-20 Federal Budget, the Australian Government announced $15 million over three years to establish the national suicide and self-harm monitoring system. The Department of Health is funding the AIHW to lead the development of this work. The AIHW is working in collaboration with the Commission, drawing on our expertise to inform the development of the system.

The system will improve the coherence, accessibility, quality and timeliness of national data and information on suicide, suicide attempts and self-harm and will inform the development of suicide and self-harm policy, as well as identify trends, emerging areas of concern and at risk groups.

The system also aims to assist governments, Primary Health Networks, service providers and communities to better respond to suicide and self-harm by collating existing and new data into an interactive web-based platform. This platform will contain a public interface that will be available to the public, and a secure data portal for approved users.

Expert Advisory Group members

The Commission has established an Expert Advisory Group for the National Suicide and Self-Harm Monitoring System project to support the development, implementation, and application of the monitoring system by providing advice as required.

The membership of the Expert Advisory Group includes representation from suicide prevention experts, academics and researchers, service providers, and people with lived experience.

  • Ms Christine Morgan, Chair, CEO, National Mental Health Commission
  • Dr Jaelea Skehan, Member, Special Advisor, National Suicide Prevention Taskforce
  • Mr Alan Woodward, Member, Co-Chair of Advisory Group to the National Suicide Prevention Taskforce
  • Dr Grant Sara, Member, Chair of the Mental Health Information Strategy Standing Committee
  • Ms Nieves Murray, Member, CEO, Suicide Prevention Australia
  • Professor Pat Dudgeon, Member, School of Indigenous Studies, University of Western Australia
  • Associate Professor Jo Robinson, Member, Head Suicide Prevention Research, Orygen
  • Mr Mark Davis, Lived Experience representative
  • Dr Nerida Volker, Lived Experience representative

Progress to date

The Expert Advisory Group had their first meeting in November 2019, and a second in March 2020. There are a further two meetings planned for 2020.  

The public interface of the monitoring system is now expected to be available for use by September 2020 and the secure portal available to governments and service providers by the end of this year. The link to the public interface platform will be added to this page when the platform has been released.